Skip to main content
CSD Brand Hong Kong - Asia world city
Site Map Contact Us
Search

Prisoners' Education Trust Fund

line

Background

The pursuit of academic qualifications is conducive to the successful rehabilitation of offenders. In this regard, the Correctional Services Department closely liaises with external educational bodies to facilitate prisoners to sit for external examinations and to attend external courses organised or run by recognised examination/academic bodies. To support and assist motivated prisoners, who however are in need of financial resources to pay for the required fees, the Prisoners' Education Trust Fund was established under the Prisoners' Education Trust Fund Ordinance (Chapter 467, Laws of Hong Kong) in December 1995.

Objects of the Fund

The purpose of the Fund is to provide financial assistance to individual prisoners, on application, in their effort to obtain education and to provide educational facilitates for prisoners. The provision of such assistance is in the form of:

  1. grants to sit for external examinations;
  2. grants to cover external course fees; or
  3. grants to procure textbooks, study aids or educational resources.

Administration of the Fund

In accordance with Section 6 of the Ordinance, the "Prisoners' Education Trust Fund Committee" was established for the purpose of directing the Trustee (i.e. the Commissioner of Correctional Services) with regard to the objects of the Fund and with regard to the investment of fund moneys. The Committee consists of a chairman and a member, who shall not be public officers, appointed by the Secretary for Security, the Commissioner of Correctional Services or his representative as ex officio member and the officers in charge of the Rehabilitation Unit 2 and the Education Unit of the Department.

Financial Assistance

Invitation exercises are conducted three times a year. Applications from prisoners are made to the Department for processing and the Committee meets to vet each and every application. Since the establishment of the Fund, many prisoners were granted financial assistance for the payment of external examination/course fees and the purchasing of reference books. External examinations include the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination, the LCCI International Qualifications, the City & Guilds International Examinations, General Certificate of Education Examinations (London Examinations), Hong Kong Institute of Accredited Accounting Technicians Examinations, etc. External courses include those run by the School of Continuing & Professional Studies of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, the Hong Kong Management Association and the Open University of Hong Kong.

Donation and Enquiry

The Trust welcomes donations from members of the public. For enquiry, please contact the Secretary of the Fund, whose telephone number and address are as follows:

Name : Mr CHOI Ting-hei
Telephone No : 2834 0706
Address : 4/F, Oi Kwan Court, 28 Oi Kwan Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong.
E-mail Address : choi_th@csd.gov.hk

跳至主要內容
CSD 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
English 網頁指南 聯絡我們
Search

在囚人士教育信託基金

line

背景

在囚人士努力求學取得學術資格,有助其更生。因此,懲教署與外間教育機構保持密切聯繫,讓在囚人士可報考外間考試及修讀由認可考試機關/學術機構舉辦的外間課程。為支持及協助有志向學但須尋求經濟援助以支付學費的在囚人士,當局在一九九五年十二月根據香港法例第 467 章《在囚人士教育信託基金條例》設立在囚人士教育信託基金。

 

基金的宗旨

基金的目的是應個別 在囚人士的申請,在其致力獲得教育方面向其提供經濟援助,並為在囚人士提供教育設施。基金以下述方式提供此等援助:

  1. 報考外間考試補助金;
  2. 支付外間課程學費補助金;
  3. 購買課本、輔助學習工具或教材的補助金。

 

基金的行政

按照《在囚人士教育信託基金條例》第 6 條的規定,當局設立一個“在囚人士教育信託基金管理委員會”,就基金的宗旨及基金款項的投資事宜向受託人 (即懲教署署長) 作出指示。委員會由下列人士組成:由保安局局長委任不屬公職人員的主席及委員各一名;擔任當然委員的懲教署署長或其代表:以及懲教署更生事務組2及教育組主管。

 

經濟援助

該基金每年分三次邀請在囚人士向本署提交申請。每宗申請經本署處理後均由委員會開會逐一審批。基金成立至今,不少在囚人士獲援助以供支付外間考試 / 課程費用及購買參考書籍之用。外間考試包括香港中學文憑考試、英國倫敦工商會考試、英國城市專業學會考試、英國倫敦普通教育文憑考試、香港財務會計協會考試等,而課程則包括由香港中文大學專業進修學院、香港管理學會及香港公開大學舉辦的課程。

 

捐款及查詢

歡迎市民捐款,以助基金工作。如欲查詢有關詳情,請與基金秘書聯絡。電話號碼及地址如下:

姓名 蔡霆熙先生
電話號碼 2834 0706
地址 香港灣仔愛群道 28 號
愛群閣 4 樓
電郵地址 choi_th@csd.gov.hk