Skip to main content
CSD Brand Hong Kong - Asia world city
Site Map Contact Us
Search

Launching of Therapeutic Album: Women Who Shine Through the Wall: Therapeutic Drawings of Female Persons-in-custody

Launching of Therapeutic Album: Women Who Shine Through the Wall: Therapeutic Drawings of Female Persons-in-custody

Cover

Have you ever wondered what it looks like behind bars or how it feels to live behind the walls? Is it full of darkness? Is it filled with sadness, loneliness, fear, anger, bitterness or grudges?

In our work as clinical psychologists of HKCS with female PICs, the uniqueness of their psychological needs has been revealed. They are different from their male counterparts in terms of their higher frequencies of exposure to traumas and abusive experiences, mental disorders, self-harm behaviours, relationship problems and more. Their wounds and bleedings, both physical and mental, are obvious when they unveil their struggles and difficult past in psychotherapy.

Yet, regardless of their painful experiences, we believe these women are full of potentials. They could shine in the midst of darkness and through the walls, like the sun out there.

This album is a collective work of female PICs. They tell their stories through the drawings and show us their resilience despite the different adversities they are facing. The drawings represent their thoughts and feelings at various stages of psychotherapy. They are organized into three main themes, namely, suffering, transformation and positive changes. In “Suffering”, female PICs expressed the pain and tears of their lives. “Transformation” shows us their struggles and endurance when they made way out of darkness. In “Positive Changes”, these women illustrated the growth and changes they experienced after coming out of the dark. These themes echo the process of psychotherapy through which they left shadows of the past behind and were able to turn new pages once more.

The drawings in this album are created by female PICs of different nationalities. In order to facilitate their expression and enable readers to see their real inner world, the sharing of each story is presented in Chinese or English, according to the artist’s preference. Although personal details have been modified to protect their identities, the stories they share here are true to their hearts. They are kind enough to give their consent to publishing their stories because they long to be understood and wish to encourage a more accepting society for female PICs. With this album, we sincerely hope that readers would be inspired by their encouraging stories. If we are willing to seek help, fight on and determine to make changes, we will be able to emerge from whatever challenges we encounter with amazing resilience. No matter how bad the storm is, the sun will always shine again.

跳至主要內容
CSD 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
English 網頁指南 聯絡我們
Search

新書推介:《圍牆內的嬌陽》女性在囚人士的心理治療畫作

line

新書推介:《圍牆內的嬌陽》女性在囚人士的心理治療畫作

封面

「圍牆」代表監獄,圍牆內究竟是怎樣的光景?是漆黑一片?還是內裡充滿悲傷、孤單、驚恐、憤怒、苦澀、怨恨呢?

我們是在懲教署工作的臨床心理學家,在幫助一班女性在囚人士的期間,我們發現她們獨有的心理問題。女性跟男性截然不同:她們有著更多受創和被虐的經歷、情緒病、自殘行為、人際關係問題……在心理治療的過程中,我們看見她們背負傷痕累累的過去。她們心裡淌著血,不斷在痛苦中掙扎。

雖然她們曾遭遇過痛苦的經歷,但依然有著不同的潛能。經過心理治療後,她們都可以成為「嬌陽」:一群發出陽光般光芒的女性,照亮四周。

《圍牆內的嬌陽》這本畫冊是一群女性在囚人士在心理治療過程中的畫作,她們透過畫像,表達從痛苦中的轉化。在這本畫冊內,每一幅畫都代表她們在不同治療階段的心路歷程。畫作分為三個主題︰傷痛、轉變,和成長。在「傷痛」的題旨下,女性在囚人士表達了生命中不同的痛與淚;在「轉變」這個部分,她們畫出從痛苦中轉化的掙扎和堅持;在「成長」中,她們展現出自己在克服困難後的成長和蛻變。她們面對逆境,作出正面的改變,最終燃亮自己,也照亮了別人和自己的家。這三個主題正好呼應著她們在心理治療中逐步走出陰霾的過程。

本書的畫作來自不同國籍的女性在囚人士,為要最真實地呈現她們的內心世界、她們對畫作的解讀和臨床心理學家的分享,我們會按照她們的意願,選擇以中文或英文來書寫。為了保護她們的身份,她們的背景資料都經過改編,但她們的故事全部都是有血有淚的真實經歷。她們願意將心底的喜與悲與大家分享,期望社會能明白並接納女性在囚人士。我們更希望透過她們激勵人心的故事,讓讀者明白無論遇上甚麼逆境,只要願意尋求援助,決心轉變,雨後也可以放晴。我們每一個人都可以成為嬌陽中的一道光,給自己和別人帶來光明與溫暖。